Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that some people’s success is mostly attributable to luck instead of their own hard work. However, I completely disagree with this opinion. I believe that only determined and industrious people will be successful in whatever they do. Hard-working people usually attain their goals. For instance, Steve Jobs spent thousands of hours coding and experimenting to bring out the great Macintosh operating system that we use nowadays. Another clear case of success through determination is Nick Vujicic, an Australian motivational speaker, who suffered from a rare disorder which resulted in the absence of four limbs. Despite not having any hands or legs, Vujicic earned a bachelor degree with a double major in accountancy and financial planning; he had his own family, and now he travels around the world inspiring people as a motivational speaker. On the other hand, by contrast, luck is only a small factor in determining one’s achievement. Firstly, people cannot solely be dependent on luck to become successful. If a student does not study for an exam, chances are he or she will fail, no matter how lucky he or she may be. Secondly, luck only contributes to short term fortune. For instance, a person who wins a lottery is definitely lucky because winning a lottery does not require you to do anything to earn it. It purely depends on luck; yet, he or she cannot win the lottery for the rest of his or her life. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that in order to achieve objectives in life, one must be extremely determined and hard working to follow his or her passion till the end.