These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advances of technology and the latest lockdown policies due to the CoVid19 Pandemic, many universities around the world are offering classes via online platforms. In this essay, I will explain why teaching through the internet has more benefits than conventional classroom education. On the one hand, streaming classes online is significantly more convenient, it allows students to save money and time as they do not need to commute to the campus. For instance, it takes almost an hour to get to college and more than one- third of monthly allowances are spent on bus fairs. Another advantage is that remaining at home is safer regarding infectious disease spreading. In this manner, CoVid19 spread has been controlled by staying at home and not attending places like schools, bars and concerts. In addition, it is much more environmentally friendly as a great amount of energy is needed to maintain the campus’ buildings and a lot of waste is produced there as well. In this manner, garbage and energy use would be reduced significantly. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to bear in mind. In the first place, interpersonal relationships between classmates will be lost, as they do not have to attend large lectures where many youths meet and make friends. Likewise, many people meet their best friends and future partners while studying at university. Another negative point is that online courses do not offer any face to face feedback from professors. Therefore, teachers’ corrections and advice will not be any more a source of enhancement of professional attitudes and skills. In conclusion, teaching through the internet can cause friendships and teacher-student relationships struggle. Nevertheless, I certainly believe it protects the planet from severe contamination, it is a cheaper and a time saver strategy. Professors ought to learn how to handle online teaching difficulties and offer students quality online education. There is always another way to meet friends and partners in life.