Genetic engineering and modification techniques are becoming more advanced, raising ethical questions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of genetic modification?

Several ethical concerns have been raised due to the evolution of genetic and cellular modification experiments. The purpose of this essay is to present their benefits, mainly related to health and product quality, and their drawbacks associated with the occurrence of mutations. On the one hand, genetically modified organisms could increase human health and food quality. This is because some cellular beings, in labs and under controlled conditions, could suffer modifications, allowing them to combat severe human diseases, such as cancer. Additionally, modified fruits and vegetables could become resistant to parasites and fungi, reducing the usage of pesticides in their culture. For instance, the University of São Paulo proceeds with a wide range of research about genetic modification applied to agricultural development, like increasing the levels of saccharose in sugar cane. On the other hand, genetic engineering could result in severe mutations, whose effects are still unknown. This is important since these mutations may lead to new pathogenic agents, which could be potentially hazardous or lethal to humans. Furthermore, the consumption of modified products could cause food intoxication or diseases on a global scale, culminating in a pandemic. To illustrate, many people claim that the COVID-19 virus was created in a laboratory, as a result of genetic engineering experiments. To sum up, cellular research is getting more and more advanced these days, and ethics is one of the main issues related to it, particularly due to the disadvantages this technique may be associated with, such as mutation. However, its advantages are relevant and must be taken into consideration, such as a healthier society and better quality of foods.