Modern cultures around the world have become similar as compared to the past. What are the main reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays new cultures are increasingly shifting and have shaped a similar one globally, despite the past. Globalization generally and advanced technologies, like the internet, are some compelling reasons for it. This development certainly has some advantages and disadvantages and I believe its bright points outweigh its negative ones since it creates new opportunities. It is conceivable that the globalized economy has changed the tourism industry, with commercial flights and low-cost accommodations, hence more people can travel and observe other nations and their way of living these days, compared with the past. Moreover, the innovative technologies, such as the internet, have altered the way of communications and provides social platforms like Instagram and Facebook where they can interact and share their insights more conveniently. People's food habits and lifestyle, for instance, have changed significantly because people now are more familiar with other nations' perception, for example, sushi is now becoming a popular dish and most capitals around the world have the best restaurants for serving this Japanese food. Surely, national identities are disappearing as a consequence of international shared culture, but this phenomenon has brought many positive outcomes. Now, more people are seeking jobs across national borders to not only earn more money, but also live in another country to experience their cultures practically. Besides, sharing a global culture can broaden minds which will hopefully diminish discrimination acts towards minority groups. It can be seen that there are several campaigns on social media to support all humans, regardless of their gender or sexual preferences. Therefore, just not superficial levels of cultures have changed, but also more fundamental views towards different groups of people have altered. In conclusion, people now are living in a global village where they share a similar culture. Regarding economic policies which lead to globalization term and novel human discoveries, like the internet, are the main contributing factors to this which has offered individuals more possibilities and making the world a better place to live.