Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Students from universities are willing to learn additional subjects other than the main subjects that are related to their majors. While others argue that fully emphasizing the main subjects for a qualification is more critical. I do agree with this statement, despite the fact that other subjects provide benefits. The desire of some students to learn other subjects may have potential benefits in their future careers. In other words, there are many general skills that students can learn as additional subjects, such as interpersonal skills, which could enhance when they interact with society not only for the moment of studying but also in their future working lives. Since universities play a crucial role as a bridge for children when they prepare for their careers to enter adulthood, the students, thus, consider having additional subjects will be advantageous for them. However, it might lose their attention on the main subjects. On the other hand, there are students who want to focus on their relevant subjects for a qualification, particularly international students. This is because they have initially encountered language barriers and culture shocks, meanwhile, they have to struggle for their studies which were taught in a foreign language. Another reason is that they don’t usually have rooms for irrelevant subjects as they have been occupied with their part-time jobs. They probably consider that lacking concentration on main subjects may hinder higher grades and cause confusion in their career paths. To sum up, in my opinion, students who are focusing on main subjects for qualification would be more effective and efficient in their career path rather than adding additional subjects, which may create confusion.