Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages. (IELTS 9, AC)

In recent years, to learn other different wordings than the mother tongue is one of the conspicuous trends among the students. Many advocates postulate that students should learn overseas wordings when they enrolled in primary schools rather than waiting till secondary tuition; nevertheless, the rest opposes it. Notwithstanding, this discourse delves into both standpoints, and subsequently, will explore whether the boons trump the pitfalls, accordingly. Apparently, the exponents of the view that practicing other languages in younger age is much better than in the adulthood — have their own justification. The reasoning for this argument might be that the students can render a smooth control over the other terminology by communicating with their peers and mentors while studying. Consequently, it not only improves the proficiency in a particular speech by practicing more, but also expands the knowledge of another culture. In addition, the grasping power of brain is tenfold more in younger age due to eagerness and flexible nature to acquaint new learning; hence, obviously a little life is effective in order to pick up another terminology. To exemplify, according to one survey from the University of Oxford in 2016, 40% pupils from class 5 and 6 communicated well in English than the students of the college level. However, taking a look at it from the flip side, could the contenders of the school of thought that secondary school is best for learning a new speech, be absolutely right? It follows that as children grow, they get more maturity to gain an appropriate knowledge and understanding of other languages, which can directly make them perfect in other subjects. Moreover, if youngsters enrol themselves in more than one language, they might lose self-confidence because the burden of study; hence, it is better to give them time to catch up with some vocabulary till they get to a mature life. To conclude, having explored both slants, I reiterate that it is certain that children can learn how to be profound in other languages in a primary stage of life than in their secondary school's lives. Thus, it is certain that the plus points supersede the gloomy aspect.