Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that punishment is helpful in improving teenagers in academics, while others disagree and think that students perform well when they are rewarded for their work. However, I reckon that rewarding is a best way for achieving a better result from the youngsters. To begin with, the advocates of this notion may argue that fear of getting punishment would force them to study. For example, a student might want to spend his time after school by playing with their peers, rather than completing his homework, but if he knows that he would be punished if he did not complete his homework on time, he is more likely to give priority to his assignments than any other leisure activities. As a result, they will put more efforts in studies, and consequently their results will improve. However, despite the aforementioned argument, I would argue that this would have a very little effect on their performance and reward is the best way to achieve better results. The reason for that when the students are rewarded, they feel happy and proud of their performance. This sense of happiness and fulfilment motivates them to work harder and succeed in their life without having their teachers and parents pushing them. For instance, in a recent study published in the Daily Mail suggested that 90 percent of the top positions in the academic institutions acquired by students who are self-motivated. In conclusion, although with punishing students, teachers may force students to complete their work on time, this cannot guarantee that they will achieve higher grades in the exams. In my opinion, reward provides students with the sense of self-value, which makes them competent.