Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree?

There are many countries that are facing the high degree of felony. Some people go so far as to claim that an increasing number of law enforcement on the street is the only way to reduce crime. However, in my opinion, this view is over- exaggerated and underestimates the role of other factors such as people and government. It is understandable why having many police on the street can prevent crime rate. Firstly, by raising the quantity of law enforcement, more violent activities are likely to be prevented from the beginning. A primary reason why criminals can have illegal activities is a lack of strict surveillance, so if they see lots of force around, they will not have opportunities to start their plan. Secondly, the increasing in the presence of law enforcement on the streets would enable residents to report when they see the risk of crimes tend to occur in order to deter crimes. In case that security forces are far from residential areas, citizens take a long time to report a breach. As a result, the timely intervention of police would be too late, which leads to adverse consequences. However, maintaining a large number of police is not the only way to controlling transgression. One of effective methods is that governments can apply the technology. Human resources can be more useful by allowing their intelligence play a role in security instead of their strength, meaning automated camera can do the watchmen work and give accuracy of events happening. The information from these machines can be used as retrospective data for future events. Thus, there is no need for the presence of security forces, which government can decrease the money have to pay. What other solutions which authorities could perform to tackle criminal issues are to keep the society out of disorder by developing the economy. When a huge number of jobs are created, the unemployment rate, which is one of main reason leading to the growth of crimes, is more likely to reduce. Therefore, people force on working and have what they desire without committing crimes. In conclusion, although extending more police on the roads is a good way to address crimes, it seems to me that alternative methods would be combined to receive a better result and have possible solutions.