Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

These days number of students prefer to take a gap of one year before getting into a university, this is due to various reasons, mainly to explore and learn more. I strongly agree with this change in students and this change might get better benefits to the students. This essay is gonna explore the possible reasons for the argument with supporting examples for it. Firstly, the students is becoming more independent, when compared to older generations. This gives the freedom to the students to take decisions, which leads to a better career. One of the main reasons that students are choosing to take a break from education, so that gap provides the time to explore the world by travelling to different regions. While doing this, the students might get better in learning about the world, which leads to better understanding about themselves and their surroundings, which they are living in. Secondly, another major reason for students taking a break is to work, by doing so, the students will earn money, so that, they can pay for their college fees. For instance, if a student comes from a poor family and has plans for studying in university, that the student needs to earn money for himself and save it for education. In addition, few students take a break to gain knowledge and experience in the subject they are planning to study. This leads to better understanding of the subject while studying in colleges. In conclusion, it’s a good idea to take a year gap before joining a university, as it has various advantages of doing it. And this gap should be well planned in advance, so that it does go waste.