Some people say that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Sports are believed to be of importance in the community; however, others hold the opinion that it is just a kind of entertainment. Personally, both views have credibility for several reasons. On the one hand, it is obvious that sports have a significant influence on people’s lives. Sports provide plenty of opportunities for relationships, including personal and international ones. Taking part in sports, individuals meet a large number people sharing the same hobbies, therefore, they are likely to become friends, colleagues and even lovers. Furthermore, playing sports is also considered to be an effective medication. Researchers have proved that people involving in physical activities regularly tend to have less extreme diseases than sedentary ones. On the other hand, it is true that sports can be regarded as a recreational activity. Not everyone has the abilities and potentials to become professional sports players; consequently, they just spend time playing sports to relax and promote ones’ health. In addition, commercialization makes a win-at-all-cost attitude which does more harm than good to the society on the grounds that players resort to unethical means to win such as taking steroids or even harming the opponents in any way. In conclusion, although some people believe that sports are just a recreational activity, I still believe that sports play a considerable role in the community because it has brought outstanding highlights to people in terms of additional relationships together with health improvement.