Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinion varies about whether children should decide on their daily choices such as food and clothes. Some insist that letting children freely make decisions can create a future selfish generation that supports extreme individualism; meanwhile, others argue that children will largely benefit from choosing what to do on their own. I believe that allowing children to make their choices can help them more than limiting their right to do so. It is understandable why several people are advocating to not allow children to make decisions. They are afraid that giving children too much freedom may let the children centralize themselves, ignoring other people, and acting for their own sake. As children are not mature enough to realize the importance of empathy toward society, they tend to figure out which actions benefit them the most. For example, they will try to get as many candies, which are supposed to be equally divided, as they can. It is only an example of a possible trivial incident, but many people fear that more serious cases that the child acts selfish may happen, which generates future individuals who only think for themselves. Regardless of the chance children become self-centred, children should be allowed to do what they want, at least on everyday choices, for the basic human rights and their independence skills. Although children are small citizens whose voices have little influence, they are still a part of a free society that provides everyone with the most basic rights, which includes to speak and to act. Hence, if children are restricted to make their own decisions on the smallest issues such as food and clothes, it also means that our society is not as liberal as we want. By deciding what to do, children can also enhance their independence skills, which make them proactive and dynamic individuals who are willing to turn the world into a better place. Independence is one of the most significant traits contributing to success, so developing the ability to be independent in children will cause less harm but more gain, In conclusion, children might become selfish by doing what they want, but giving children the freedom to make their decisions is more beneficial than limiting their choices. Therefore, I completely agree that we should grant children the freedom to choose the thing they do.