In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Convincing children that hard work is the key to success is popular in many nations. It can be profitable as it gives them the motivation to work hard and encourages them to chase their dreams. However, it has many negative consequences also. To begin with, this message is beneficial to the young generation in several ways. As they are young, they dream about many things and a little bit of motivation from adults can lead them to do wonders in their lives. It pushes them to go beyond their limits and try hard enough in order to achieve everything they want. It gives them an opportunity to become a better version of themselves and to follow their passion. In other words, when they will become adults, they know that, by persistence and consistency they can accomplish any goal. Despite the advantages, many people believe that it can have destructive impacts on the youth. Firstly, due to believing everything is possible, they may set unrealistic goals for themselves and think they can achieve them. For instance, they may think they can become millionaires at the age of fifteen and when they reach that age, they become frustrated that they did not get what they wanted. Secondly, children may push themselves to their limits and work too hard which affects them negatively. This can be exemplified by children who study all the time because they want to be top students and suffer from mental health issues such as depression, anxiety, and isolation. To conclude, although it is beneficial to tell children that working hard towards a goal always yields positive results, it can cause issues such as frustration and burnout.