information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that information technology is affecting our lives in a number of ways. While some believe that computer technology has its drawbacks, I would argue that information technology is nothing but a gift to humankind. On the one hand, information technology is responsible for creating the most amount of white collar jobs in the last decade as people are leaning towards online services like never before. For instance, big IT giants like Amazon are hiring talented people from all around the world just on the basis of their skills. This solved an underlying problem of unemployment in many developing countries. Furthermore, Information technology might be the only industry which did not get affected by the current pandemic as everyone was able to work from home with the same productivity. On the other hand, unlike before when everyone was dependent on stationary stores for almost everything, information technology has made our lives much easier. Now we can do almost everything from the comfort of our couch. For example, online shopping has provided us with numerous benefits, but the most important one is time. In today's busy world, when nobody has free time for shopping, Internet has made everything really convenient and quick, as a result, we have time for more important things like friends and family. In conclusion, even though information technology may have a few drawbacks, the benefits like creating employment and making our lives easier are far more important and thus the advantages of information technology clearly outweighs its disadvantages.