It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people

In recent times, communities have suggested that young adults should undertake a period of public service for free. This essay will explain why I think this is a good idea and will be beneficial to the public and youngsters as well. Firstly, this period of helping those in need of assistance, either as an internship or as society service, can help build the young individual's character. For instance, when a teenager gets out of high school and takes a gap year to intern at an old folks' home, this teaches that teenager compassion and empathy. Furthermore, the fact that this work is done without pay helps the neighborhood a surrounding or nearby region neighbourhood gain manpower assistance without the extra burden of wages to be paid. For example, in an old folks' home where youngsters are employed to help without pay, the establishment can spend more on the well-being of their residents and worry less about more salaries than they can afford. In conclusion, after considering the positive impact on the young person's character, as well as the money to be saved by the district, I feel it brings more benefit to the society and young people than drawbacks.