In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Traffic congestion has been a major issue around the world in the recent times. Therefore, the government should impose heavy taxes for personal car holders and utilize this money to develop public transport. In this essay, I will first elaborate the general benefits of this system and then look into the inherent drawbacks. On the one hand, the merits of introducing taxes on automobile owners, which would force them to pay an additional fee as tax apart from other maintenance in regards so, this will reduce the number of private cars on the road. As a result, it will enhance the use of public transportation and helps to decrease the traffic across the cities. Likewise, If this policy is acted upon it would be a huge measure to help reduce harmful gases emitted from the cars. For instance, what is more is that the collected tax will contribute largely to upgrade the public transport facilities as a result increasing more commuters. In contrast to this, there are few negatives of implicating this rule. Primarily, this will lead to an unnecessary burden upon private car owners and affect their budget. Besides that, some employees prefer to own cars due to the convenience of their different work time and schedule. For example, individuals working in Marketing sectors have the need of travelling to many places carrying their sales products along their journey for promotions and distributions. Moreover, some people have night work shifts and public transportation are available only for specific timings. Under these circumstances, possessing a car would ease their work. Thus, enforcing taxes would be unfair upon them. In brief, the benefits and disadvantages has its own position. But I believe that/by introducing a tax on private automobile owners will not be the solution for improvising public transportation. Rather, the government, which has to take full responsibility of the public developments.