There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes being committed each year. While some think that the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss the both views.

Crimes in layman’s terms, are actions – molesting, stealing, murdering, breaking the law. It is said that the global rate of serious crimes committed annually is increasing exponentially. Some people believe that the best way to deter is to use the death penalty, whilst some think there are other measures, such as educating the audience can reduce the uprising numbers. Certainly, the death penalty is one of the best ways the majority feel is effective. For example, countries such as America, broadcast court trials on television, allowing viewers to observe the court process. When the arrested is indicted for his serious crime, audiences watching the televised channel tend to be fearful, serving as a reminder that committing such heinous crimes will lead to such consequences. In the past, America had numerous cases of gunshot incidents. Usually, these offenders are put on a death sentence. As compared to today, although reported cases on the use of guns still exist, the amount has dwindled drastically. Henceforth, using capital punishment as a deterrent proves to be useful for the majority to abide the strict laws. On the other hand, not every action requires drastic measures. Instead, parents and schools ought to do their part in educating their students. For instance, in Singapore, schools invite various speakers from the National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) to give talks about crime prevention. Indeed, teenagers at the age of 13 to 16 are more prone to influence their peers and commit crimes such as stealing. In Singapore, stealing is a very serious crime and thus, it is always preferred to teach children the rights and wrongs at a young age. Furthermore, there are television programmes such as Crimewatch to educate audiences the result of carrying out these actions. Therefore, gaining knowledge and the ability to differentiate the Do's and Dont’s are critical by educating the students, and if better all. Yet, the best method to prevent a person from committing misdeeds is to show the consequences of his or her actions. To illustrate this, the government of Pakistan has controlled the rate of terrorism by enforcing death penalties for the members of terrorist organisations. However, humans do not have the rights to kill others. Right to live is the basic right of any human being, and none can infringe this right, irrespective of the person’s deeds. Besides, some criminals repent on their acts, hence, they should be given a second chance to improve themselves. Even though capital punishments are cruel, it is proven to be the best way of controlling criminals. To summarise, committing serious crimes will have a direct impact on one and his family. In fact, when the offender is convicted, it is often seen that the family will be shunned by society. The shame, hurt and embarrassment felt by them will be unforgettable. After all, one should always think twice before carrying out actions that could lead to detrimental effects, preventing regrets that may come.