In many countries today, parents are able to send their children to single-sex schools or co-education schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree.

It is argued that students who study in single-gender schools are disadvantaged compared to the others. This essay disagrees completely with this statement because the curriculum is the same in these schools as in standard ones and also because the previous generation used to study in this kind of educational institution. It is conspicuous that students in single-sex schools learn about the same subjects as other learners in mixed-sex schools. Indeed, the first aim of going to school is to acquire knowledge in a wide range of varied topics and not to interact with the opposite gender. In this regard, the curriculum is exactly the same in these educational institutions and students benefit from a high quality of schooling. Hence, they are not beneath the others. A recent study in Morocco, showcased the fact that more than 30% of the best students in the university were from single-sex schools. It is also crystal clear that the previous generation used to be schooled in this type of educational institution, without becoming ineffective citizens. In fact, our grandparents, who gave us our education as well as our moral values were commonly sent to single-gender schools. Moreover, many major figures in history were formed in, what seems nowadays, "particular" educational institutions. For instance, Thomas Edison, a famous scientist who was responsible for the development of electricity, used to be schooled in a single-sex school. In conclusion, children who learn in single-sex schools are not lacking anything compared to the others because they follow the same curriculum in addition to the fact that many great figures throughout history graduated from these educational institutions.