Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Considerable figures of individuals argue that leaving youngsters to take decisions on day to day issues affecting them result in environments where they believe they must have their ways at all times. Whereas, others are of the opinion that it is a crucial thing to allow the young ones decide for themselves on matters affecting them. This essay supports the view that children should be allowed to decide on issues which they are involved as doing so makes them to be independent and responsible for their actions. It's paramount and a good thing to allow youngsters to take their own decisions as this would make them have a sense of responsibility thereby making them independent and abiding by the outcome of their thoughts whether good or bad or as envisaged by them or not. For instance, allowing children to choose any games or clothes to be worn leave them with no options than to abide by the outcome of whatever inadequacies discovered in the game or the inappropriateness of the clothes for the intended use. On the contrary, there are people with the school of thought that allowing young ones to decide for themselves, create an impression to them that their own wishes alone must stand. They are of the opinion that children who are allowed to take decisions by themselves become bossy later on in life believing that no one should dictate or control them as they are used to deciding for themselves. For example, many marriages are breaking down due to the bossy nature of the wife or the husband as they are used to taking their own decision without asking for an alternative view. In conclusion, while some think it is wrong to allow children decide on their own; others believe it should be considered. I am inclined to support the view that youngsters should be given liberty to decide for themselves.