Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

The ability of spending money wisely is a valuable life skill that everybody should learn. It is a matter of debate whether schoolchildren should be taught this skill as a part of their curriculum. This essay will present why it is crucial to teach young children how to deal with money wisely. First and foremost, children have the ability to learn, absorb and adapt to new skills easier than adults. In other words, teaching children the importance of money and how to spend it properly will help them to have the habit of wise spending early in their life and hence, it will be easier to keep this habit in their adulthood. For instance, children who think about the price of an item before buying it and whether or not it is necessary or not will find it easier to do the same when they grow up unlike the children who don’t know the value of money and ask their parents to buy them whatever they need who will find it quite difficult to manage spending properly when they are adults. So, learning this skill at school makes it a fixed habit. Secondly, not only does learning the appropriate way of spending money makes it a habit in adulthood, but it also teaches children other valuable skills such as planning and calculation. For example, in order to spend money wisely, one need to plan and calculate how to make a certain amount of money sufficient for a specific period of time and manage spending according to that. Although some of these skills can be advanced for young children to learn, but they will improve gradually as they grow up and reap the rewards of learning multiple essential life skills. To summarise, although children should enjoy their childhood without concern about critical life matters, it is, however, significant to have, at least, the basic skills of spending money and its value as a part of a school education programme to gradually prepare them for the future.