In some countries young people are encouraged to work r travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, several countries provide their undergraduates with programs in which they can work and journey simultaneously for a year in the time interval between ending high school and starting college. Accordingly, there are some benefits to this assertion, but also it presents a number of drawbacks. To begin with, young people could gain a lot of advantages by taking a gap year in order to work and to take a trip. Firstly, working or travelling can expose young individuals to new cultures, lifestyles, and ideas, which can increase their maturity and self-awareness. Consider Kazakhstan as an example: many academies in Kazakhstan present plenty of opportunities for their students such as travelling abroad and studying there which is called a work and travel program, by participating in this program students can easily explore other countries and their cultures, lifestyles and so on. Secondly, it is logical that gaining work experience can provide practical skills and insights into different industries, enhancing future career prospects, thus people would be able to illustrate their experience at working on this project. Finally, if pupils take advantage of working and travelling abroad, they will improve their academic focus. Because a break may allow them to approach their university studies with renewed focus and determination. However, one of the biggest problems with this proposal may be money. Due to the fact that these types of programmes can be paid for, some individuals would experience a number of problems with them. Travelling or unpaid internships can be expensive and may contribute to financial strain or increased student debt. Nevertheless, in addition to unpaid internships, there are several programmes that can provide paid travel and accommodation while working or travelling. For example, popular internships such as FLEX, Work and Travel etc. do not require money as pupils just have to go through some other requirements. In conclusion, young students have to take the opportunity and participate in such programmes due to the fact that they can give them a lot of benefits. Although some of them may demand some money, people are able to find other types of internships without financial requirements.