Research suggests that majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Much worldwide painstaking research has shown that the mass of offenders is inclined to re-commit after rehabilitation. This essay would make an attempt to shed some light on several underlying factors behind this dire tendency before outlining a range of feasible remedies to address it. In the first place, I am convinced that there exist a compelling reason which could be held responsible for the fact that the majority of ex-prisoners would likely to re-offend. The key justification is that the process of community re-integration of newly released convicts could be practically struggling. The masses usually bear animosity towards those who have served in prison. Job opportunities perfectly exemplify this stigma as employers hardly have the intention of hiring an ex-offender. Therefore, many former prisoners have to commit crimes again to sustain their lives or to just relieve the aversion they receive from the general public, such as committing a robbery for money or murder for avenging. In light of the severity of breaking the laws for the second time among former wrongdoers, I would thereby propose two viable measures. First of all, the provision of proper rehabilitation should rest with the government. The national authorities are in a position to provide former offenders with, for example, vocational training courses or employment chances so that they can earn a living to distract them from the criminal life. In the long run, another practical yet ambitious solution is to change public’s perception of latterly releasing criminals. They should be welcomed and helped by the ordinary people to fit once again into society. With the course of time, one-time lawbreakers could turn into a civilized citizen anew. In conclusion, there could be a key rationale explaining why offenders have the tendency to commit crimes again and with the aforementioned remedies, this pressing challenge could be greatly overcome.