Many offenders commit more crimes after their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A lot of criminals subsequently engage in criminal acts, even though they were initially punished for their wrong doings. This is so because there is no adequate punishment in the laws regulating crime commission to deter them from going back to crime and this can be controlled by providing sufficient punishment commensurate with the offence committed and the awareness of the punishment for offences to the general public. Firstly, one of the reasons first time offenders go back to crime after being punished is because there is no adequate punishment for offences in the laws regulating commission of crimes. Furthermore, these laws are obsolete and do not sufficiently provide appropriate penalties for offences. In addition, the laws are not being reviewed to meet up with the ever increasing rate of crimes in the society. For example, there are laws prescribing an option of fine for an an offence as grave as robbery. This, is incomparable with the infraction committed. In order to forestall commission of further crimes, one of the steps that can be taken is to review the laws governing misdeed commission and the consequences of criminal acts and creation of awareness of penalties for crimes to the society. For example, there has been a review of the laws governing the offence of rape and the awareness of the retribution for the act to be a life jail term in the media in Nigeria in recent time. This will definitely deter, to some extent, the commission of the offence of rape in Nigeria. To conclude, inadequate retributions for offences in the laws regulating commission of crimes contribute to repeated criminal acts and this can be resolved by adequate provision of commensurate penalty for every lawlessness.