Dogs are one of the most popular pets in the world, yet many would, yet many would say it is inappropriate to have them in built-up inner-city areas? Do you agree or disagree?

Although many people are fond of keeping dogs as pets, many still believe that they should not be kept inside developed city areas. I do not agree with this idea and believe that they can be kept as domesticated animals in the cities after adequate restrictions and vaccination. Some people believe that dogs are furious animals and they can bite anyone without provocation. They believe so, due to the fact that, rabies caused by these animals is universally fatal and none of the patients who had rabies had survived in the history of medical literature. This fear pushed them to believe that these beasts should be kept outside of the city centres and they consider them as a source of danger for city dwellers. In my opinion, these animals can be domesticated with adequate restrictions so that they should not be freed and get an opportunity to bite the pedestrians. By this I mean, that they should be reared in specific cages and only allowed outside under direct supervision and they should never be given a chance to bark or injure someone. For instance, the incidence of rabies caused by pet animals has declined dramatically in the past two decades due to proper handling by the owners, according to Time magazine article. Secondly, these pets should be appropriately immunized against rabies so that they should not be able to transmit the deadly disease to humans in case of accidental bites. These immunizations produce antibodies in their blood and the virus cannot be transmitted to other humans after the bite. These protective measures to prevent the transmission of zoonotic diseases through dogs can be minimized by timely vaccination. For instance, in New York Central hospital, none of the dog bite proved fatal for residents in 2019. To conclude, a dog is a famous animal in keeping as a pet, but many people are not in favour of keeping inside the urban area. I believe that they can be kept as fun animals in the populated cities if they are kept under restrictions and vaccination to ensure the safety of public.