Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Some people believe that when athletes are playing well then it is acceptable that they behave in a wrong way on or off the field. I disagree with the statement up to a great extent. In a sport, it is admissible that players show aggression and healthy sledging on the ground. As it keeps players motivated and focused towards the game. For instance, whenever there is a cricket match between India and Pakistan, we can see the healthy rivalry in the match and players sledge each other. But after the match, they show utmost respect to another team and most of them are good friends off the ground. However, a player has millions of followers, so when they misbehave publicly then sets a negative example in front of the audience. This encourages bad behaviour in the society, especially amongst youngsters as they have less understanding of right and wrong. These contemporary youth follow their ideals blindly and may think that it is cool to misbehave with others. Also, professional players represent their nation at the international level. When they misbehave, they degrade the image of their country. Consequently, the whole country has to face criticism from international media and other people. For instance, once a player misbehaved with a fan during an international match, then that participant had to face lots of trolling and criticism. Therefore, being a professional there are lots of responsibilities which have to be obeyed. In conclusion, while it is tolerable that sportsmen show healthy aggression on the field, I believe that misbehaviour by a professional portrays a bad image of the player and the country as well.