News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Watching and listening to the news, has become a crucial part in our society. This essay will explain, the value of news in people’s daily lives, the reason of the majority of news related to bad incidents, and why the electronic media should focus on good news. To embark upon, in this era, the people want to keep informed about the current affairs and latest information, therefore listening or reading the news is a major priority in their lives. They want to stay connected with the outside world, and like to stay informed about what’s happening around the globe. In addition, the majority of people, especially those who are aged 60 and above, watch news as part of the entertainment, as they don’t find anything else that suits their taste. For example, it has been observed that retired people, mostly spend their time at home, and they don’t feel like doing anything else in their free time instead of watching the news. Furthermore, the majority of the news channels prefer to show the bad news, as these news sells faster. Because of the fact that most of the news channels tend to increase their ratings, and want to attract more viewers, thus they highlight negative news such as any horrible incident or market crash, and telecast them as breaking news, which in turn gets public attention. For instance, it has been seen that bad news usually gain the attention of the people, by getting them worried about it. However, different media channels should give priority to news which focus on positive aspects. The economical crisis, social crisis, and recent pandemics have already stressed people, and made them patients of many diseases. Hence, the media should play a positive role between all of this, and should prioritize showing good things happening around the world. To conclude, news is a critical part of the people’s lives as they want to keep informed. Different news platforms tend to show negative news because of their self interests. On the other hand, the media should play a role and bring happiness to people’s lives.