Some people believe that it is best for people to be honest at all times. Others, however, believe that it is occasionally necessary to lie. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that people must remain truthful every time, while others feel, lying sometimes is needed. Although, it is believed that one seldom can be dishonest to avoid complex situations, but speaking truth at all times is better because it increases the respect and credibility of a person. An individual who is honest, every time is more respectful in a society and the workplace. Many people believe that lying is sometimes essential to come out of the tough situations. It is seen that in many police investigations people hide the truth because they don’t want to get themselves troubled for further probing. For instance, in the famous Jessica Lal murder case, the eyewitness kept mum because he didn’t want to be involved in police questioning. Though by speaking a lie may help avoid unwanted situations for a while, but there are more probabilities that one lie may lead to another and causes more problems in future. The one who never lies, on the other hand, is fearless and the most respectable person in a society and the workplace. It can be seen in business also, an honest businessman will state all terms and conditions with clarity and will never hide anything from his customer. This builds a bond of trust between a client and vendor. For example, in Connaught Place, Delhi, a bookseller Mohan is known for being the most reliable and trustworthy vendor, and most of the book lovers buy from him because of genuine and authentic books at his store. I, therefore, believe that honesty is the best virtue a man should adopt in his whole life, which makes him free from all worries and increases his credibility. To conclude, though hiding a truth sometimes can help us escape complex situations, but it doesn’t help in a long run as someday it will be exposed that makes one guilty and might also face serious consequences. On the other hand, if a person never lies, in the beginning he may face some problems, but in the end he will never lose and will be respected by everyone.