People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon?

Nowadays, people have a longer life expectancy than preceding generations. Although living older can lead to demographic issues and increasing costs to healthcare, it allows, as well, people to stay longer with their families, enjoy their retired life in good health thanks to medicine and benefit from the adaptability of society thanks to AI. These days, most developed countries are facing demographic issues caused by the large number of retired people. Consequently, the population are ageing and there are more senior citizens than young ones, which makes people work longer than before. For example, In France, the government has decided to postpone the age of retirement from 63 to 65 years old. In addition, elderly people need more care due to old-age diseases, which generates an increasing cost to healthcare. For instance, more and more people are treated for dementia or for dependency in hospitals. On the other hand, increased life expectancy allows people to stay more with their families, which makes them enjoy grandchildren and even sometimes great-grandchildren. As an aside, my grandmother is 95 years old and has the happiness to know her 2 great-granddaughters. Additionally, retired people can enjoy their lives longer and in good health, thanks to medical advances. To give another example, my parents-in-law are 66 years old and retired too, but are always travelling in their camping car. Moreover, society has adapted itself to elderly people for their well-being thanks to Artificial Intelligence, such as in nursing homes where sometimes, nurses are replaced by robots. In conclusion, whilst longer life expectancy can lead to several issues like demographic or healthcare problems, it allows people to enjoy their retired life in good health and enjoy their families longer.