Nowadays media should include more good news in their publications. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern age, it is a fact that the media has made profound impacts on society. Thus, it is generally supposed that there should be more favorable encouraging or approving or pleasing favourable news reported in their volumes because of its positive influences. However, I approve of a balance between the number of pleasing reports and reports about the brutal reality owing to some main reasons following. On the one hand, good news in the publications can help humans lead less stressful lives. In the present-day hectic life, individuals have to deal with a heavy workload almost every day, consequently having a proneness to depression which can be worsened by negative reports in the media. It is more than likely that these articles will trigger an increasing mood of pessimism on those, making their life jam-packed with fear and stress. Therefore, the idea of the media's shift of emphasis is worthy of careful consideration. On the other hand, there is a critical need for reports about the painful reality to ensure personal security. If there is an overwhelming number of good news, readers will become ill-informed about potential dangers in their daily life. As a result, they will be unwary of possible risks and probably get into savage situations. For example, if the media does not report about a very current violent escaped prisoner, residents will not be able to recognize him to protect themselves. Hence, the media should still involve adverse reports reflecting reality to diffuse adequate knowledge relating to citizens' safety. On balance, instead of excessive utilization of good news in the media's publications, I hold a firm belief that they should be inclusive of an equivalent number of both positive and negative articles to provide readers with a comprehensive overview of society.