Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. (opinion) Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The modern era has undergone a mammoth change. The boom in technological and scientific advancement over the past decade has led to automation in industry, which has greatly diminished the need for manual labour. As a result, many accept that hours spent in the workplace must be redacted as well. To my way of thinking, the suggestion of the cutback should be implemented and the reason for this may come from a wide range of plausible justifications. First and foremost, there are manifold points to shore up my point of view. Technological improvement has significant impact on the productivity and accuracy in the contemporary work; hence the need for physical workers decreases. Therefore, it is imperative that the hours which were clocked by employees be reduced as well, as every individual has the right to reap the rewards of science. To justify the same, there is an epitome of a bank cashier as in the pre computer era, they have to calculate all the transactions manually. However, this is no longer the case with the automation in the banking industry because cashier can now serve 4-5 customers within 15 minutes and additionally, at the end of the day, the calculation is done with the banking software. Undoubtedly, reducing the working time seems quite logical to me. Secondly, to further emphasize my prospective, reducing working hour could be lucrative for employees to balance between personal and professional life. To illustrate, people can spend quality time with the family at that free duration and can get break from monotonous routine which in turn enable them to do the same task continuously. Finally, the organizations which remain opens 24 hours like the hospitals, fire service and so on should implement the rostering system and use of machines as much as to reduce the manual workforce. As a consequence, this would not only enhance overall productivity, but also establish the healthy and productive work environment. In contrast, few masses opine that reducing redundant time likely to affect incomes of employee. For example, if a person gets wage for 9 hours, decreasing hours will also decline their salary amount, hence, their budget can be upset. To recapitulate, considering everything, I strongly believe that the time to complete the job should be trimmed out. The reason is that although staffs have multiple tasks, they are enabled to do more assignments per hour with the use of machinery advances.