Every year large numbers of people migrate from one country to another for different reasons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of migration for the individual and for society as a whole.

In recent times, immigration has rapidly increased across the globe. While there are a multitude of reasons for this, in the following essay I will discuss the pros and cons of migration for both, the individuals and society at large. Firstly, the movement of people from other countries can help boost the economy. For example, migrants are often employed in the manufacturing sector, helping factories run smoothly as well as keeping production costs low. Industry is a key component of the national gross domestic product therefore a high industrial output significantly boosts economic growth. In addition, immigration is also beneficial for expats, who can earn better wages compared to their home countries and enjoy an improved lifestyle. Hence financially, immigration is beneficial for both society and the individual. However, there are downsides to immigration as well. If there is poor integration of migrants with the local population then there can be a significant increase in crimes. For instance, over the last three years, there has been a sharp increase in the overall crime rates in Sweden, with the highest levels seen in areas with a predominantly non-native population. Immigrants also frequently struggle to understand the new culture and often feel alone and depressed. Many have to leave families behind and are unable to make new friends, falling deep into loneliness. To conclude, rapid globalisation has allowed a large number of people to change countries. While this comes with great economic advantages for both the society and the migrants, it can also lead to rising crime rates and negatively affect the mental health of expats.