Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a belief that zoos are becoming aggressive to wild animals, and hence ought to be locked, while the contrary view holds, zoos are helpful to preserve endangered animals. I, personally believe that it is a great idea to hold and breed such species which are on the verge of extinction, in the zoos. This essay will discuss both the perspectives. The majority of people think that staffs and visitors in zoological parks are behaving inhumane to our natural creatures and it is unethical to captivate them. Indeed, the cages in zoos are really cramped and animals require enough space in order to enjoy stress-free environment. This situation is made worse because animals do not have access to move freely in zoos as they live in forests, and ultimately the cage keepers are strongly tortured them to live behind the bars. This in resulting, species in parks become victim of atrocious conduct. Panda and polar bear, for example, walk vast distances on ice in their everyday life, however, zoos are unable to provide them similar climate as they live naturally, which constrain their natural behaviour as well as affect their mental health. Thus, zoos seem unfavourable for wild species, and demanded to be closed. On the other hand, the concept of closing the parks is often countered by those who understand that the natural habitat of animals is negatively affected by human interference. Although the government has strictly restricted the illegal hunting, poaching of animals and deforestation, people still break these restrictions in order to fulfil their needs. Owing to the continuous human practices, animals are still losing their lives as well as their homes, and are becoming extinct, while some have declared endangered. So, zoos are the best option, which are conducting different animal conservation projects to preserving species by offering professionally run breeding programmes. Tigers and black-bucks, for instance, are two commonly known rare species in India, which are preserved by the Government in the national parks and kept in wildlife sanctuaries for breeding, unless these animals would diminish completely. Eventually, it is crucial to open zoos to protect an endangered species. In conclusion, most people consider that zoos should be closed as it seems pathetic and worse place for animals. Whereas, in my opinion, zoos are the best place to save animals from further extinction. Hence, if the trend of conserving animals in zoos was adopted before then the rare species would be existed in abundance.