Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Sports always attracts a wider audience around the globe. Many local and international companies offer sponsorship for sports and are using it as a medium to advertise their products. While these sponsorships unlock the true potential of any sportsman and also increases the sales of a product through sports advertisements, it has its own disadvantages too. One evident advantage is that these companies provide free equipment to the players, which is not affordable otherwise. This allows players to completely focus on sports and forget any financial burden. Ultimately, this would bring the best out of the individuals in sports. There are many examples such as Messi in football, Jordon in Basketball who have hugely benefited from these sponsorships. Additionally, advertisements through successful players will enable greater exposure to the company products and their brands to the public. Consequently, the revenue of the company is increased. On the other hand, advertisements from companies selling harmful products such as tobacco and cannabis through sports players would attract youngsters to try these products, which would be injurious to their health. This situation can be avoided by banning advertisements from such companies. Besides, advertisements through unsuccessful players would negatively affect product sales. In other words, the growth of the company is directly linked to the success of the players. To conclude, advertisements are the best form to market and sell a product. Companies should sponsor sports teams and/ or events as it helps both sportsman and sponsoring companies. However, the companies that sell harmful products damaging the health must be banned from sponsoring sports events.