in many countries people are now living longer than ever before. Some peoplw say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent fo the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there has been rapid growth in the ageing population around the globe, which yields social issues for some nations. However, it is believed by many that the existence of elderly people could bring potential benefits. Despite the opportunities the elderly people may offer, this essay argues that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. One major drawback of having a high proportion of senior citizens is the increasing cost of healthcare. Generally, elders suffer from one chronic disease or age-related illness that may demand the government to allocate more budget to renovate and construct new health facilities. Moreover, the issue of a massive number of old residents may cause a labour shortage. With declining physical strength and productivity, elders are often no longer suitable for job requirements. As a result, this scarcity of workers may lead to economic deficiency. For example, Japan is one of the countries with more than 10% of its citizens aged 80 and older, and now its governments are looking for immigrants from overseas to fill their labour demand. Nevertheless, the existence of elderly people is not entirely an unfavourable situation, primarily due to their potential participation in community engagement activities or volunteerism. As elders come into their retirement period, more availability and leisure time will allow them to voluntarily partake in a wide range of activities, such as social or local community events. A perfect example comes from a district in Jakarta in which I lived. The people of this district always hold an annual food festival that involves elderly people to be the contestants as well as the committees. In conclusion, the fact that ageing citizens may bring healthcare problems and manpower scarcity for the industry clearly outweighs the potential benefit that elderly people will contribute to community or voluntary programs.