The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that enterprises should prioritize generating profits, and they are not required to have public responsibilities. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that they should also conduct their business in a socially responsible manner. On the one hand, the efforts of companies to maximize their profits could be beneficial to society as a whole. Firstly, the higher the profits earned by enterprises, the more taxes they pay to the governments. As a result, national authorities could have more revenue to invest in key fields, such as education and health care, which could lead to an improvement in the quality of life of the whole community. Secondly, by earning huge profits, firms could grow their business. As a result, this could create new job opportunities within the community, which could allow residents, especially the underprivileged, to stand a greater chance of getting an occupation in those corporations, allowing them to earn a living. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that businesses should also shoulder social responsibilities. The first reason is that their activities have negative effects on the environment. For instance, if production processes are not controlled properly, they are very likely to give rise to adverse environmental degradation, such as water contamination and air pollution. Another reason is that enterprises should help those who are less fortunate since they have the money to do so. For example, major corporations, namely Unilever and Vinamilk, have taken philanthropic actions, such as providing scholarships and giving charitable donations, which could not only help those who are in need financially but also enhance these companies’ public image. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that making profits is of paramount importance to businesses, I would contend that they should also put effort into fulfilling their social responsibilities.