In several parts of the world, there is currently a lack of students choosing to study science in universities and colleges. What are the reasons? And what will be the effects on society?

Nowadays, many countries are facing a decline in the number of medical graduates and postgraduates in which difficulty level of this stream and expensiveness of science related courses is the preliminary contributors. As a result, it can deprive the humanity from medical professionals as well as the advanced scientific researches that are extremely necessary. The predominant reason behind this is the extreme hard work which is required to successfully complete these tough courses. As a matter of fact, most of the students find it very complicated, due to which they simply ignore pursuing it by choosing relatively easier subjects. This can be illustrated as Deepika Padukone is a Bollywood actress, and she did her graduation in Arts because science was one of the toughest subjects for her as she hardly understand biological concepts. In addition, aiming for a medical course in a college or university costs an arm and a leg, whereas arts and commerce courses are a bit cheaper and hence, affordable by the poor people. The socioeconomic status is another cause for exempting the talented students from chasing their dreams of becoming a doctor or a scientist. Anil Mahajan, for instance, belongs to a poor family and is an English professor in Cambridge International College but he wants to be a researcher. He did not accomplish his goal because his family was unable to spend so much money on his medical study. As far as the effects are concerned, this negative trend will end up with a drop in the availability of medical experts that are absolutely essential for a healthy world. People might not get up to the mark treatment due to insufficient medical staff in the hospitals and care centres, leading to chronic illnesses around the globe. Simultaneously, this will affect the frequency of new discoveries as the number of the researchers will decrease. Less experts will consume more time to come up with the new discoveries. Consequently, it might take years for advancements take place which is obviously a loss for the society. For example, vaccines for viruses like Corona are yet to be made and highly educated scientists are required for the same. Otherwise, pandemic like COVID-19 will remain at risk forever. Taking into consideration above said arguments, it can concisely be mentioned that the consideration of science as a problematic subject and its cost-extensive courses are the main reasons behind its unpopularity that can harm the humankind adversely by the reduction in medical staff and upcoming discoveries.