In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

The upbringing of a child has always been a contentious issue, and hence there are a myriad of methods that parents implement in order to teach their children. One such ideology is that children should acknowledge that through sheer hard-work and dedication anything is possible. In this essay, we shall discuss the merits and demerits of this view. Firstly, there are many benefits of such belief such as instilling faith, for example, when a child needs to procure a certain score or result at school or college he/she would not hesitate to take up that task because of such belief. Secondly, it gives them hope, to illustrate, even though their task seems difficult or impossible they train themselves to work more efficiently to get the desired results. Lastly, they learn to be confident about their path, which is crucial for young individuals to obtain a goal. As a result, they turn out to be incandescent, hard-working, willing and stern in their decisions. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this as well, for instance, a child would be completely shattered if they could not obtain the coveted outcome. Furthermore, they would never learn to let go until they get what they want. However, these things do not completely overpower a person’s emotions as we all learn through their mistakes and thus would eventually resolve such situations. In conclusion, where there is a will, there is a way; although there are a few setbacks to this thought, it is evident that it is more beneficial to children. Nevertheless, at a certain period, we would encounter errors in our judgements, but in the end it teaches us what to believe and what not to.