Many old buildings are protected by laws because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are controversial perspectives heating debate over old buildings together with progress. While some claim that it is necessary to preserve ancient construction, the opposite makes a statement that history should not hold back the way of progress. Whilst each has its own perks, I would contend that it is optimal to combine both mentioned factors. Without a shadow of a doubt, long-standing structures play such a paramount significant role in life. The explanation for this could be that they are able to encourage cultural identity in the nation. For instance, The Temple of The Literature which is the first university in Vietnam not only bridges the past and the present but also reminds people of ancestral connection. Moreover, when visiting there, people are provoked their national patriotism and gain a comprehensive understanding of heritage. While the redeeming features of antiquated edifices are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those of progress are ignored. History should not be sacrificed for the sake of progress because houses and offices can improve the national economy. This is probably because it is capable of attracting thousands of tourists, either domestic travellers or outbound tourists. Furthermore, it generates local economic opportunities. For example, Thang Long Citadel serves as a tourist attraction which sells tickets for visitors to drop in and understand more of Vietnam's history. This leads to hiring numerous employees ranging from students to adults, which enhances their lives. In conclusion, age-old construction should be conserved but it should not set back the way of progress.