In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

More and more people now facing fitness and health related issues due to poor quality of food intake. To tackle this problem, it is argued that government should increase tax on unhealthy foods. It is true that higher taxes can control the problem at certain limits, but I personally think that there are many other ways which is more convenient. To commence with, people are more attracted to high fat or packaged foods and that is because of the busy life they have. In other words, working people do not have time to cook meals at home and resulted in a buying of prepaid meals at cuisine courts such as Domino's, McDonald's, and so on. So, people will continue to eat unhealthy foodstuff, even after higher taxes. As a result, the agenda of high fine will not fulfil, which is preventing people from eating unhealthy meals. Moreover, instead of more levy, authority should provide awareness campaign about how dangerous can be fast cuisine for people's health. To support this statement, proper advertising of the importance of healthy snack will result in healthy life of people. Furthermore, the ministry should encourage citizens to involve oneself in any physical activity. For instance, working people have done their task on a desk, so everyone lives a sedentary lifestyle which can also harm the health of people. For example, The WHO started campaigning in Ahmedabad for awareness about the dangers of unhealthy feeding and the importance of physical activities, and resulted in a great success. In conclusion, increment of levy on fast meal has limitations, hence, I strongly disagree to impose higher taxes on fast drink, while government has another more viable solution. Thus, public authority should support people by encouraging about healthy cooking and physical activities.