Some people believe that a person’s criminal record should be removed when they reach the age of 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the people’s unlawful history needs to be abolished, after they attain the age of 18. I plainly agree with this notion because it can make them civilized, and will enhance their acceptability by others. This essay will discuss that how the decision presented above can be useful, with the reasonable example. Firstly, people can be relieved from the stress or the guilt due to their illegal past behaviour, if there is no visible documentation on it. In other words, they can freely start a new, fresh life, and become a good member of the society. As a result, when there will be no discrimination between normal public and the past prisoners, then the number of civilized citizens will gradually enhance. To exemplify, according to an article published in the New Age magazine, in 2016, in India, the numerous people struggle to obtain a suitable job owing to their felonious history. Secondly, when such a person is not liked or accepted by others, then the risk to commit a crime in the future increases. This is to say that the former criminals should be treated equally or just like any other normal person. Hence, it may improve their mentality, and the rate of crime will also decline. For instance, according to a survey conducted by the University of Solan, India, in 2018 more than 35% of prisoners started working in rehabilitation centres as volunteers after receiving clean chit from the jails. Therefore, the acceptance by the society improved, and also resulted in a decrease in the crime level. To conclude, it is certainly a great idea to clear the criminal data of a person, to enhance his or her acceptance in the society, and to make him or her more civilized.