Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Most individuals believe that mental stamina is a prerequisite to achieve success in athletics. In my opinion, either spiritual vigour or physical fitness plays a key role in any sorts of sports. On the one hand, it is of great necessity to achieve a good physical condition due to the fact that it enhances stamina of sport people. There is no doubt that athletes must practice with high intensity in a long term during the training and the competition process. Therefore, they need to have the physical strength to form and heighten their endurance to these harsh conditions. Without a strong fitness, players are unable to keep up with the progress of practice, leading to unexpected results. Soccer matches, for instance, which usually last for 90 minutes or even 120 minutes in several cases can consume a large amount of footballers' energy. If they are not muscular durability, they might be easily tired and exhausted, resulting in the failure in the contest. On the other hand, I suppose that mental health is as important as physical fitness owing to several reasons. Firstly, it enables athletes to overcome physical barriers. It is a matter of fact that during practising process, players must face numerous risks of injuries which may render them to be frustrated and discouraged. Only mental strength can support them to defeat obstacles and achieve their desirable consequences. Secondly, it assists players to make accurate decisions. It is undeniable that in sports contests, they are put under enormous pressure from difficulties in match as well as expectations of audiences. Thanks to spiritual stamina, they are able to calm their mind down, analyse situations and bring out suitable choices. In conclusion, I reckon that both mental and physical energy is crucial for sport people to get great victories.