Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is said that spending money on reserving wildlife is extremely prodigal as they have almost nothing to contribute to human progress. I totally disagree with this view because I believe that they have an indispensable position in the new century. The first reason to prove the importance of wild creatures is that they play a vital role in the medical field. Thanks to the advancement of technology in the modern era, scientists can apply various research methods in animals. It is detected that cells of several species can be utilized to make up new remedies as well as therapies for many diseases such as cancers or heart conditions. For example, in 2007, experts at Chapel Hill, University discover that a lizard type, also known as Gila, which is mainly found in Southwest America, can cure diabetes. Their saliva contains multi-insulin, which assists patients to control their amount of blood sugar. Furthermore, wild animals also contribute to maintaining the natural balance. It is a matter of fact that along with humans and plants, creatures are a crucial part of the ecosystem. These factors form a chain in which they influence and interact with each other. It leads to the fact that the change of a component obviously causes the alteration of other species. Thus, if letting wild creatures die out, the ecological equilibrium cannot be continued and will directly affect humans as well as vegetations’ lives. For instance, rats, which are the main culprit to threaten harvests, are the prey to owls. Therefore, the disappearance of this predatory animal will create good conditions for rats multiply which has negative effects on crops. In conclusion, I reckon that it is of great necessity to preserve animals since it not only is the result of human activities, but also enables to protect the balance of habitat