Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion.

With the consequences of global warming becoming increasingly obvious, many countries invest generously in their bicycle programs to achieve the goal of " carbon neutralisation". Although this movement is mainly out of concerns about climate change, it to some degree alleviates traffic congestion in cities, especially in developed countries. Increasing the proportion of bicycle usage can definitely improve traffic congestion, but this is a desirable side-effect. The primary goal of governments encouraging bicycle usage, as mentioned above, is to counter the rapid progress of climate change. According to the Economist, a well-known Britain journal, in the last five years, the odds of extreme weather resulting from climate changes, like hurricanes, floods, or aridity have grown by 40% compared to the statistics collected in the 1980s. As one of the main contributors to climate change, car waste has reasonably raised the awareness of the governments who have committed to achieving carbon neutralisation by 2050 in the Paris Compacts of Climate. In light of this, governments are actively encouraging the usage of bicycles, hoping to decline or at least maintain the now carbon dioxide level. What has come as a surprise is that the increasing possession percentage of bicycles effectively improves traffic congestion which has concerned many countries for years. One compelling example can be seen in Shenzhen, a seaside cosmopolitan in southern China, where the pace of road construction had not caught the influx of population, and as a result, the city had been struggling with a serious traffic jam. However, after the new policy was published that bicycles have the highest priority on roads, there has been an increasing number of inhabitants shifting to bicycles. As a result, the same road can bear more vehicles at the same period, significantly increasing the efficiency. Seen from this aspect, I would argue that bicycle is an ideal way to solve traffic congestion. To summarise, many countries invest in bicycle convenience as an approach to face the pressure of carbon neutralisation, while this has unexpectedly produced a desirable side-effect: the improvement of traffic congestion.