In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that an increasing number of teenagers are choosing to take up apprenticeships rather than attending university. While some would argue that this is detrimental to young people, I believe the advantages outweigh the downsides, as they avoid student debt and will enter the workforce earlier. The main reason there is a rise in teenagers enrolling in work-based training is to remain debt-free. Globally, universities are very expensive, with many young individuals unable to pay the fees; they then take out student loans, which they need to pay back with interest. This deters would-be academics from pursuing tertiary education. For example, in the USA, university fees are extremely high, which causes some individuals to remain in debt for most of their lives. For this reason, many young people opt for apprenticeships. Therefore, I believe that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. Another reason people decide to take the work-based training route is so can join the workforce much earlier. Consequently, they will be taxed, which helps the economy grow. For instance, in the UK, it is legal for 16-year-olds to work. If young people started working from 16 instead of 21, they could contribute an additional five years to the growth of the country's GDP compared to graduates. Despite the disadvantages of not attending university, I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In conclusion, some nations have observed an increase in apprentices rather than university students. This essay argues that the benefits far exceed the drawbacks, as young adults can contribute to society earlier and will be debt-free.