Some people argue that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think success is much related to the mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over the importance of physical ability versus the mental ability in sports. Some people claim that the physical strength of athletes is the key to success in sports competitions, while others reckon a good mentality is more essential, which is the opinion I tend to support. Undeniably, sportsmen or teams with the strongest and fittest bodies can achieve their best physical performance and reach the greatest success in sports. This is because they are able to stimulate and optimize their strength and potential. A typical example of this is that elite basketball players of the National Basketball Association always look athletic and have a great chance to win the championship at the Olympic Games. By contrast, people who suffer from diseases all year round are normally not chosen to participate in sports contests since they are less likely to defeat their toughest competitors. However, concentration, and emotional control, influence athletes’ on-the-spot performance to a great extent. That is to say, even if they have perfectly developed their force and skills before the competition, one single distraction or anxious moment during the match may result in failure. For instance, the cheers of the crowd, narration of commentators, or whistles of referees may easily distract athletes’ attention and change victory into defeat. Apart from that, when an athlete is experiencing a major event in his or her life, such as losing a family member or ending a relationship, the emotions might get in the way of the game if they are allowed to run wild/left uncontrolled. In summary, I believe that physical ability is significant to participants, but a good mentality involving concentration, and emotional control can shift the competition outcome. Therefore, having a proper mental attitude is more related to success.