Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

In various nations around the world, many people advocate taking a gap year in order to work or travel before beginning one’s tertiary education. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages which are worth considering. There are two main benefits to students travelling or working before their university education. Firstly, through travelling, they will be able to expand their horizons. When students go overseas, they will be exposed to different cultures and customs. As a result, they will gain a deeper understanding of the world. In addition, students who work will learn to appreciate the value of money. This is because they will realize the hard work involved in earning money. Consequently, they would think more before purchasing anything they desire and may become less impulsive in their spending. On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In the first place, travelling could cause people to feel homesick. Many students have not been apart from their family and friends before so when they travel, they may miss these people. In extreme circumstances, students may even become depressed. Additionally, students who work may not want to return to their studies. The reason for this is that they may enjoy earning money and becoming financially independent. Therefore, their whole future could be negatively affected as these days it is very important for everyone to graduate with a degree in order to be competitive in the job market. In conclusion, if students take a gap year, they could gain invaluable experience and learn to become more independent in relation to money. However, they may also become homesick and end up not continuing their studies. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the benefits against the drawbacks carefully before coming to a decision as to whether students should go on such an adventure.