Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Information sharing has always been imperative to mankind. In contemporary days, the media tend to concentrate more on issue and emergencies rather than highlighting the positive news, which could pose more harm to people as well as society. I agree with this notion to some extent as it has both positive and negative consequences. On one hand, there are certain merits of posting matter of urgency and different problems on the media. As more airtime is given news related to problems on television and the internet, the more people become aware of the gravity of the situation and tend to take precautions and try to improve. For instance, by airing largely the huge problem of climate change in the mass media, people in most of the countries minimized the use of motor vehicles and switched to travel by bicycle to mitigate the problem. Such media coverage, which highlights catastrophic events and problems provoke people to take corrective actions and preventions. On the other hand, the continuous emphasis on the negative news and its coverage by the media may have detrimental implications for several reasons. Firstly, people will start to lose faith and start to have the trust issue by continuously listening to negative news. This may also lead them to feel insecure even behind the close doors of their homes. Society will start to lose connection and tend to move away from each other. Secondly, if children are more exposed to bad news and crime rather positive and constructive pieces of information, they may grow up with the tendency to violence. For example, according to research by a renown mental health institute, a kid regularly hearing news about crime, terrorism and robbery may end up involved in one, especially when they are not well educated. To recapitulate, although reports about bad news and emergencies have several negative consequences, however, I still believe this trend has both merits and demerits and can be beneficial to a certain extent.