Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems? To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective ?

Hiking the fuel consumption cost is considered, as the best method to resolve the problem of traffic congestion and increasing pollutants in the environment. This essay disagrees with the given information because there are numerous active initiatives, which can prove beneficial to regulate the number of vehicles on the roads and the polluting contents. To commence with, it is argued by some that an enhancement in the petrol and diesel prices would help to tackle the current situation. This is due to the fact that it will discourage the general public from using their own means of commuting, which will eventually minimise the frequency of automobiles on the highways. In addition, an emission of smoke with harmful gases would diminish, which will make the quality of air appropriate to breathe in.A prime example of this, the capital city of India, Delhi, where the authorities have implemented an odd-even system to control the traffic and the pollution. Thus, it is one of the suitable measures that can be adopted for the mitigation of this situation. However, it cannot be denied that other factors can also be taken into consideration despite hiking petrol value.If governments will devote funds for the improvement in the public transportation, it would discourage the masses from using their own modes of travel.What is more, reducing the fare of buses and trains itinerary, can motivate a vast amount of population to utilise their benefits. For example, in recent years, developed countries have created awareness programmes to convince the people to use bicycles for short distance travel, and public transportation for the longer journey.For this, these nations have made modifications in their services. In conclusion, undeniably, hike in fossil fuel prices would prevent the individuals from using them to some extent.I completely disagree that it is an excellent method, since other measures are also advantageous, such as renovation of buses, trains, and reduction in the fare cost.