It is often said that “when in Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they are visiting? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

People tend to learn different languages and cultures, when travelled to different countries. In my opinion, culture plays indispensable role in every individuals life, in the place they live and learning the same does not need language. This essay will discuss the above mentioned points, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Some people are interested in travelling to various nations in order to learn their customs, so that they would become diversified and will always have a broad approach towards life. Also, when someone settles in a foreign land, it is always the best thing to adapt the traditions over there such that colleagues or neighbours who are foreigners will not have clashes with the migrant. For instance, India has a rich cultural heritage and it is better for a migrant to understand those and respect them. As a result, migrants will not feel awkward when they encounter these scenarios. Language is not a barrier to learn any culture. For example, although, India has diversified languages and cultures, it is easy to learn the way of life in North India without knowing the language, despite being a South Indian. Furthermore, culture speaks more than a language could. In addition, as people are more inclined towards technology, bloggers have made it easy with the social media by introducing different world wide traditions. Consequently, people these days are more aware of the lifestyle in different countries and try to adapt those in their homeland. To conclude, with the improvement in technology, people these days are enthusiastic to learn different nation's heritage without even knowing how to speak. Hence, culture plays a crucial role in the society and is important to respect the same, which is equal to respecting an individual.