In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There has been a growing tendency for people in the suburbs or the countryside to move to urban areas, thus resulting in a decrease in population. In my opinion, this is a negative development, which I will elaborate more on in my essay. There are multiple reasons why I regard this as a negative trend. Firstly, this will cause an imbalance in residency and workforce globally. For example, in cities like Mumbai, the population density can exceed 20,000 people per square kilometre, compared to rural areas, which might have less than 500 people per square kilometre. This can cause the population to not balance properly, leading to negative problems in cities such as overcrowding in certain places, increased cost of living, traffic congestion, and competition for resources, whereas rural areas lack workforce and labour, thus hindering the development overall. Moreover, the migration mentioned can also be the reason for urban sprawl. Urban sprawl refers to the uncontrolled expansion of urban areas into surrounding rural land, leading to a spread-out, low-density development pattern. Mexico City has sprawled extensively, with its metropolitan area covering about 2,000 square miles. The city has expanded into surrounding valleys and hills, leading to significant environmental and infrastructural challenges. Urban sprawl is another risk that this trend poses to society. In conclusion, while a number of people think this is a positive trend, as it can provide people with more opportunities in terms of development, employment and finance, in my opinion, this needs to be slowed down as it creates challenges towards cities, countries, and the world overall.