Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. This can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

Nowadays, lots of children are browsing all kinds of websites and interacting with strangers, without parental supervision, which can lead to a disastrous consequence. This essay will discuss some of the risk associated with children surfing the internet unsupervised, and also provide solutions to prevent serious complications. The main problems caused by children browsing the internet without supervision, are that they can reveal personal information to strangers and can access inappropriate websites easily.Children are vulnerable, so they can easily fall into a trap of a cyber criminal, by leaking any personal information, such as address or family name can put their family into danger. Moreover, they can easily be tricked into following a link or opening an email attachment, in this way giving criminals access to their system. In addition, as children become more active online at a younger age, the probability of them coming across inappropriate content, for instance content containing swearing and pornography rises. However, these problems are largely preventable. Parents need to keep an eye on their children's online activities and talk to them about the dangers involved in using the internet. Parents should teach them how to stay safe online and how to recognise any inappropriate behaviour and report it. One way parents can reduce the time their children surf online is by spending more time engaging in leisure activities such as playing a sport or any board game of their choice. To conclude, the problems children face when browsing internet unsupervised can easily be tackled by parents providing them with the right education on how to stay safe online.